· 11 min read

DLT Registration: Fees, Portals, Steps (2026)

DLT registration for SMS in India: the fee, documents, Jio, Airtel, Vi and BSNL portals, approval time, headers and TRAI's 2025 rules for senders.

DLT registration in India: register once on any operator portal, pay about ₹5,900, then add headers and templates

Updated October 2026.

DLT registration is the one-time registration of your business on a telecom operator's DLT portal, which TRAI requires before you can send business SMS to Indian numbers. You register once, on any one portal (Jio, Airtel, Vi, BSNL and a few others), and the Principal Entity ID you get works with every operator. The fee is ₹5,000 plus GST, so about ₹5,900, and approval usually takes three to seven working days.

DLT stands for distributed ledger technology. It is the shared registry operators run under TRAI's Telecom Commercial Communications Customer Preference Regulations (TCCCPR), last amended in February 2025. Every business SMS is checked against what the sender registered there, and anything that doesn't match is blocked.

At Healthify, our DLT operator was Vi and our SMS ran through Exotel. Most D2C brands set this up once, then forget where the login is until a template gets rejected. This guide is the version I'd hand a brand starting today.

DLT registration in 30 seconds

Question Answer
Who needs it Any business sending SMS to Indian numbers: OTPs, order updates and offers
Where Any one operator's DLT portal. One registration covers all operators
Fee ₹5,000 plus 18% GST, about ₹5,900, paid on one portal
Documents Business PAN, proof of the business, proof of address, ID of the person signing, letter of authorisation
Time BSNL says 72 working hours. Providers report 3 to 7 working days on other portals
What you get A Principal Entity ID (PE ID), then you add headers and templates under it

Which DLT portal to use

Every major operator runs its own portal, and you only need one. BSNL's FAQ puts it plainly: a business "needs to register only once with any of the Access Provider", and the ID is unique across all of them. Pick the one you find easiest, or the one your SMS provider is used to.

Operator DLT portal Notes
Jio trueconnect.jio.com Jio TrueConnect. The most searched portal in India
Airtel airtel.in/business/commercial-communication Airtel's Commercial Communication Platform, with forms and a document checklist on its help page
Vi (Vodafone Idea) vilpower.in VILPOWER. Publishes a list of registered entities
BSNL ucc-bsnl.co.in The clearest FAQ on fees, documents and timelines
Tata Tele telemarketer.tatateleservices.com Tata's UCC DLT platform
SmartPing smartping.live Took over PingConnect profiles in October 2025, per MSG91

There is no "best" portal for DLT registration in the sense of better approval. Your PE ID, headers and templates work the same on every network. What differs is the interface, how quickly that operator's team reviews documents, and whether your SMS provider has a direct link to it.

Documents for DLT registration

The lists on BSNL's FAQ and Airtel's document checklist line up:

  • Business PAN. The entity's PAN, not the founder's personal PAN, unless you register as an individual or sole proprietor.
  • Proof that the business exists. A GST certificate, certificate of incorporation, or a shop and establishment licence.
  • Proof of address of the business.
  • ID proof of the authorised person, the person who will manage the account.
  • Letter of authorisation on your letterhead, naming that person. Airtel gives a format.

No GST number? Airtel's checklist accepts a GST declaration in its own format instead, and BSNL lists "Individual" and "Sole Proprietor" as entity types. So a small brand without GST can still register. BSNL deletes an application if the documents aren't completed within 15 working days, so upload everything in one go.

DLT registration in five steps: register the business once on any portal, add headers, add consent templates, add content templates, then link your SMS provider

DLT registration fees by portal

The fee is ₹5,000 plus 18% GST, so ₹5,900, on almost every portal. Only BSNL, Airtel and Tata publish it themselves; for Jio, Vi and SmartPing the figures come from SMS providers. Here is everything I could find, with the source for each:

Portal What the sources say Source
BSNL ₹5,000, "one-time, non-refundable" (GST not stated) BSNL DLT FAQ (operator)
Airtel ₹5,900 registration fee Airtel document checklist (operator)
Airtel ₹5,000 + GST a year Spring Edge (SMS provider)
Tata Tele ₹5,000 + GST, registration valid for 5 years Tata Tele DLT FAQ (operator)
Jio About ₹5,900 + GST, one time Exotel (SMS provider)
Jio Free, ₹5,000 a year, and ₹5,900 a year, all on one page Fast2SMS (SMS provider)
Vi (VILPOWER) ₹5,900 Fast2SMS (SMS provider)
Vi (VILPOWER) ₹5,900 a year including GST Digimiles (SMS provider)
SmartPing ₹5,000 + GST MSG91 (SMS provider)
Any portal ₹5,900 on the first portal, other portals free after that Infobip (SMS provider)

Checked 16 October 2026. Operators change fees without notice, so the payment page on the portal is the final word.

What the table settles, and what it doesn't:

  1. You pay once, not per operator. One PE ID works everywhere, and Infobip and Exotel both say other portals don't charge again.
  2. One-time or yearly is not settled. BSNL calls its fee one-time. Tata says a registration is valid for five years and is then renewed on the terms of the day. Some providers say yearly. Budget ₹5,900 now and check the renewal terms on your portal's dashboard.
  3. "Free on Jio" or "free on Airtel" mostly appears on older, undated pages, often next to a ₹5,900 fee on the same page. Airtel's own checklist shows ₹5,900, and its ₹50,000 security deposit applies to telemarketers, "not applicable for enterprise registration".

BSNL's and Airtel's public pages list no separate fee for headers or templates, though a few provider pages mention per-header charges, so ask on the portal you use.

SMS providers that help with DLT registration

Most SMS providers publish a step-by-step guide, and a few will file the registration for you. The ₹5,900 still goes to the operator either way, and the registration stays in your business's name.

Provider What they offer Charge for the help
SMSGatewayHub Files the registration for you Free for their clients, per the page
AvanceZone Takes your documents and gets the entity approved Not stated
MetaReach Helps with documents, templates and linking "No extra charge", per the page
MSG91 Guides, and links a premium support page Not stated
Exotel Self-service guide Says the fee is not collected by Exotel
Gupshup Guide, offers to assist Not stated
Fast2SMS Guide; says the business registers itself Not stated
Infobip Guide Not stated
Spring Edge, Digimiles, Authkey Portal-by-portal guides Not stated

If a provider registers for you, make sure the account email and the authorised person are yours. You will need that login every time you add a template.

How long DLT registration takes

BSNL says it validates documents within 72 working hours of receiving the fee. Provider guides report three to seven working days on Jio, Airtel and Vi. Headers and templates come after, and usually take one to three working days each. Plan for about a week from start to first SMS, and longer if a document bounces.

Headers: your SMS sender ID

A header is the sender name customers see, like BRANDX. Under it sit your templates. A few rules that trip up new brands:

  • Service and transactional headers are letters, promotional headers are numbers. BSNL's examples show a six-letter brand code for service messages and a six-digit number for promotional ones.
  • Headers can now be up to 11 characters. TRAI's 2025 amendment allows headers "from 11-character alphanumeric string" and asks operators to add -P, -S, -T or -G so customers can see whether a message is promotional, service, transactional or government. Older guides still say six characters.
  • Use your brand name. Header requests are checked against your registered business, and the 2025 rules ask operators to have a separate reviewer do it more strictly. A header that clearly comes from your brand name is the easy approval.
  • Unused headers switch off. A header that sends nothing for 90 days is deactivated automatically, under the 2025 rules, and has to be reactivated on request. BSNL adds that headers can't be transferred.

After registration: templates and your SMS provider

Registration only gets you the PE ID. Before your first SMS you need:

  1. Consent templates, for promotional and some service messages: the text you use to ask customers for permission.
  2. Content templates: the exact SMS text, with typed slots like {#numeric#} and {#url#} for the parts that change. I cover the format, the 2026 variable tags and 12 ready samples in SMS DLT templates.
  3. Whitelisted links. Since 1 October 2024, SMS carrying links, APKs or OTT links that aren't whitelisted are blocked. Register every domain you link to, including your link shortener's.
  4. Your SMS provider linked to your PE ID. Your provider (MSG91, Exotel, Gupshup, Kaleyra or the SMS partner inside your CRM) sends on your behalf as a telemarketer. Give them your PE ID, header and template IDs, and add them on the portal if they ask you to.

What TRAI's 2025 rules changed

The February 2025 amendment to TCCCPR is why many older guides are now wrong. For a brand sending SMS, these are the parts that matter:

Rule What it means for you
Each template variable must be pre-tagged Say what each slot holds, a number, a link, a name. Details are in the template guide
At least 30% of a template must be fixed text A template that is mostly variables gets rejected
More than three variables only with written justification Keep templates to two or three slots
One content template per header Don't share one template across brands or sender IDs
Unused headers and templates deactivate after 90 days Old templates for a sale last Diwali may be off when you need them
Annual self-certification Confirm your details, headers and templates each year, or they are suspended automatically
Blacklisted header stops your traffic Sending stops until review or for 7 days. Repeat violations blacklist the sender across all operators for at least a year

Mistakes other DLT registration guides make

What some guides say What's true in 2026
Register with every operator Once, on any one portal. The PE ID works everywhere
You pay the fee on every portal Once. Other portals reuse your PE ID without charging again
Registration is free on Jio or Airtel Not confirmed by the operators. Expect ₹5,900 and check before paying
Headers are exactly six characters TRAI now allows up to 11, with a -P, -S, -T or -G suffix
You can send bulk SMS without DLT Not to Indian numbers through Indian operators. Unregistered traffic is blocked
{#var#} works for every variable Variables must be typed since TRAI's November 2025 direction

Sources: BSNL DLT FAQ, Airtel document checklist, TRAI TCCCPR Second Amendment 2025 and press release on URL whitelisting. Checked 16 October 2026.

Where SMS fits for a D2C brand

For most D2C brands, SMS now carries OTPs, order and delivery updates, and COD confirmations, while offers move to WhatsApp. DLT is the SMS half of compliance. The WhatsApp half is template approval, and the costs are compared in what WhatsApp marketing costs in India. When you put links in your SMS, tag them with the UTM builder using utm_medium=sms so the visits show up in GA4. Before you register a template, check its length with the SMS character counter: one ₹ sign can turn a 1-part SMS into 2.

Where I fit

I'm Raviraj, founder of Compound Lab, a retention agency for D2C brands and consumer apps. If you're setting up SMS and WhatsApp for a brand and want it working as one system, not two vendors, book a 30-minute call. Learning CRM? See where this fits in how to become a CRM marketer.

FAQ

What is DLT registration? It's the one-time registration of a business on a telecom operator's DLT portal, required by TRAI before the business can send commercial SMS to Indian numbers. You get a Principal Entity ID, then register headers and message templates under it.

What is the full form of DLT? Distributed ledger technology. In SMS, it refers to the shared registry Indian telecom operators use to record businesses, sender IDs, templates and customer consent under TRAI's rules.

Is DLT registration free? Usually not. BSNL charges ₹5,000, Tata ₹5,000 plus GST, and Airtel's checklist lists ₹5,900. Pages that say Jio or Airtel is free are mostly older and undated, so check the payment page on the portal.

How much does DLT registration cost? About ₹5,900, which is ₹5,000 plus 18% GST, on one portal. The same registration works with every operator. Whether it renews yearly depends on the portal: BSNL calls it one-time, and Tata says it is valid for five years.

Which portal is best for DLT registration? Any one of them. Your PE ID works on Jio, Airtel, Vi, BSNL and the rest, so pick the portal whose interface you find easiest or the one your SMS provider prefers.

How long does DLT registration take? BSNL validates documents within 72 working hours of the fee. Provider guides report three to seven working days on the other portals. Headers and templates take one to three working days each after that.

Is Airtel DLT registration free? No. Airtel's own document checklist lists a ₹5,900 registration fee, which is ₹5,000 plus GST. The ₹50,000 security deposit on the same list applies to telemarketers, not businesses registering as entities.

Can I do DLT registration without GST? Yes. Airtel accepts a GST declaration in its format instead of a GST number, and BSNL lists individuals and sole proprietors as entity types. You still need a PAN, address proof and ID proof.

Do I need to register on every operator? No. You register once, and the Principal Entity ID works across all operators.

What is a PE ID in DLT? The Principal Entity ID, a long number the portal gives your business once registration is approved. Your SMS provider needs it, with your header and template IDs, to send your messages.

How do I check my DLT registration status? Log in to the portal where you applied and open your entity profile. Airtel, Vi and BSNL also publish lists of registered entities on their portals.

Do I need DLT registration for WhatsApp? No. DLT covers SMS and calls carried by Indian telecom operators. WhatsApp business messages follow Meta's own template approval and opt-in rules instead.


Setting up SMS for a brand and want it right the first time? Book a 30-minute call.

Next postThank You Message for Customers: 60 Examples (2026)

Your customers already paid once. Make them pay again.

Book a Consultation